LA’s LAST SUMMER WEEKEND 2010

Even though it’s October, and it is still hot as hell, Summer is officially over Los Angeles! We had some great times, and great pool parties! I was fortunate to enjoy a last summer Sunday at one of my favorite pools: Skybar @ The Mondrian.

This place will always be HOT. Hot music, hot crowd, lot’s of flesh. Basically, an upscale LA version of Vegas. So of course, my camera phone gets trigger happy, and “material” just seems to come to me. Below are some high’s and low’s of LA’s Last Summer Weekend. Enjoy!

HOT HOT HOT! This was the first thing I saw when I entered the pool area. First, I love a girl in a bikini and heels, poolside, hotel…. its picture perfect. Now of course it’s NOT ALWAYS practical, blah blah…. obviously not for the local Y or community pool, especially with kids. But in an adult atmosphere: ladies, this is great! Think about it- you’re in barely anything anyway, why not make your butt look tighter and legs look longer, right? The fact that these heels are BLACK and with STUDS and SPIKES: Very LA, Very Mondrian. LOVED this girl.

Then I saw this girl…. (sigh). This is tricky. She is wearing a black bikini, heels, big glasses… and then, a FUR HOODIE VEST-Thing. Now, I’m ALLL about fashion, pushing the envelope, standing out, etc. However, it IS HOT outside, and SUMMER. I’m all for fur (take that PETA) but it IS TOO MUCH. Yeah, she got attention, and looked good, but wrong environment. If it was cooler, fall, and poolside: SURE. If she was Rihanna? GREAT! On Valentino’s yacht in South of France? HOT!  But no, just a cute girl who went overboard. Nice try, but no 😦

Sarongs on men. I’m sure you’re all gonna think I hate, but I LIKE. Seeing as my family lives in Hawaii, and have been going there forever, Sarongs are a common thing to wear. Throw on over a swimsuit, and walk around. Done. Plus, this guy is in great shape, and looks like Ricky Martin: he could wear anything. Also, since The Mondrian is VERY Euro, it works. Another reason? It’s the Brazilian flag, he looks Brazilian, it’s the beach life culture. Again, not for the local community pool!But I would def wear this for sure… I do own a few!

When I came back from the bar, I saw THIS. I STILL don’t know if it was a (skirt/shorts)? Something made of denim, and SHREDDED TO HELL. All i can say is FUGLY. This is not attractive, not appropriate, and just a big ol’ NO! What was she thinking? “Hmm, I’m going to The Mondrian, I’m gonna wear that shredded ugly denim thing as a cover up, it’s so edgy”? NO! Put on NORMAL shorts, skirt, ANYTHING! Or better yet, get a Sarong!

Saving the best for last, This woman. She was poolside for what appeared to be a birthday, or some sort of celebration. She was late 40’s(?) and THE BEST DRESSED. PERIOD. Age appropriate length on a fun summer print dress, appropriate oversized creme day clutch, and strappy black heels to ground it. Thank God (or Buddha, or whomever is out there) for blessing me with a positive way to end this post. I’m glad to know that women, no matter what age, put in an effort, and look HOT!!

And here’s a quick pic of me ( in TOM FORD sunglasses, of course). A final thank you LA, Mondrian, and all readers who had a wonderfully Fashion Filled Summer! See you next year poolside!

3 responses to “LA’s LAST SUMMER WEEKEND 2010

  1. The fact that you say “take that PETA” makes you a complete asshole! ANYONE that supports the killing of defense animals so vain humans can waer them on their body, is an ASSHOLE!

  2. ANYONE that thinks it’s o.k. to kill defenseless animals, just to make fur coats and whatnot, is a piece of shit, period!

  3. To reader “anonymous” ( rocker1201@yahoo.com ) who wrote both comments above: Yesterday, Oct. 2 2010, you left me 4 comments, all within a 4 hour time period, and all repetitive. Are you that boring? That lonely, that depressing?
    You have also called me “asshole” in 5 out of 6 comments. Are you THAT UNEDUCATED that you only learned one “swear word”? Or do you suffer from a crappy case of Turrets where you spew the same nonsense over and over without thinking or acknowledging what your saying? ONCE YOU LEAVE A COMMENT, you DON’T NEED TO WRITE ANOTHER an hour later to “relive” you trying to condemn me. Shut the FUCK UP already, go find another hobby, and quit looking at my site! Why don’t you spend your time looking at Internet Harassment laws, and realize you could be committing a crime now that I have personally addressed you to stop commenting on my site. Should you continue to pursue calling me an “asshole”, rocker1201@yahoo.com , it is very easy to have authorities issue a restraining order.
    Thanx! Now go join PETA, and pretend to do something useful with your life.

Leave a Reply

